Posted in Destiny's Story, Stories

Beautiful Books – Listening to Destiny

Paper Fury is a blog who does a series on characters called Beautiful People. However, once a year, they pause on the Beautiful People and do a Beautiful Books instead in honor of NaNoWriMo (the challenge to write a 50k story in one month).

They had some pretty cool questions so I figured I’d join in on the fun. I’m going to be doing it on Listening to Destiny.

(1) What inspired the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

Ok. The idea came last year, a little before November (this was last year’s NaNo story) after I came back from the ear doctor. She told me I had medium hearing loss and they almost gave me hearing aids. That put me in the mood of pondering deafness (what if something happens and I go deaf?). Then, Destiny showed up in my thoughts along with Bella and the story wrote itself.

  1. Describe what your novel is about!

A girl. And her dog. And the girl is deaf. And stuff.

052e999a61f5b3bf372c6cf765381a72

Ok, jk, jk. It’s about a girl who becomes deaf because of an illness, the dog who helps her through it, and learning that people are never quite what they look like on the outside.

What is your book’s aesthetic? Use words or photos or whatever you like!

edb5137a174b8131e474deec53b98165

 

images-1

 

05127b7ad0b08932768900c2ea4641d921a100-wm

 

Butterfly HQ Wallpaper

Introduce us to each of your characters!

Ok. *ahem* first there’s Destiny, the main character. She lost her hearing, her way in life, her friends, almost everything. Which brings us to Bella. She the only person, er, dog, besides Destiny’s family who didn’t leave her. Dan is Destiny’s adopted little bro who… you know, does little bro stuff. Sage is Destiny’s first friend after her deafness and the girl who helps to give Destiny a purpose again. Harper is the one who teaches Destiny lipreading and ASL. She also the one who shows her that her life isn’t over.

How do you prepare to write? (Outline, research, stocking up on chocolate, howling, etc.?)

This story needed research, so I read up on a ton of stuff, and when I had writer’s block,  I could go back and read again to get more ideas.

What are you most looking forward to about this novel?

Publishing. Showing people that even with a disability, life is not over.

List 3 things about your novel’s setting.

Destiny’s new home in Sweetbriar… she doesn’t leave a lot at the beginning of the story. The hospital (you’ll have to read to find out why). And then, her bed. She spent a ton of time pouting on her bed with Bella desperately trying to get her up.

What’s your character’s goal and who (or what) stands in the way?

Destiny’s goal is to feel like a person again. What stands in her way is… well, what doesn’t stand in her way?

How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

She realizes that her hearing is not what determines if she is a purposeful human. 😀

What are your book’s themes? How do you want readers to feel when the story is over?

Um… themes? I don’t know. I just wrote it. 😛 I guess… don’t ever give up? I want them to feel alive, and like they have a purpose and that no one and nothing can take it away. 😀

 

bb-redone

 

Tell me about your story!!

Author:

Jaylee Morgan is a teenage author with her sights set on publishing. She’s written short stories since–uh… um–before she can remember. Her family isn’t quite sure what to do with her (mental hospital, maybe?), as she carries around a folder that she’ll randomly open and start scribbling in. She grew up (er, is still growing up) on a little hobby farm. She was basically born riding horses and hopefully will continue to ride horses for the rest of her life. She loves, loves, loves the cowboy lifestyle and might actually write about it someday. (Right now, she’s too scared that she won’t do it justice.) She reads. Like crazy.

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Books – Listening to Destiny

    1. Thanks! I’m glad you find it interesting. 😀 Oh sweet! Yeah, I love including animals when I write. I’ll check out your story right after this reply. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This sounds pretty cool. If you ever need beta readers… As someone who developed inexplicable moderate hearing loss as a teenager, your storyline really interests me 🙂 just as a side note, if she developed it over time rather than suddenly, it’s likely that she became a proficient lipreader without realising. It was such an upsetting thing losing hearing, it makes you realise how little disabilities are dealt with in fiction and how they’re often only seen as something to cure. It’s also super inconvenient :/ What happened to your hearing in the end? Did you get aids? If you need any info on what it’s like getting them or learning to live with them just ask 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my word! I’m soooo happy you commented. I’ve never met anyone who had hearing loss as a teenager yet. They all developed it later in life. 😛 I’m glad the storyline interests you! Yeah, she actually lost it quickly, so it was quite a shock for her. In the end, I ended up being able to wait on hearing aids.. for how long I’m not sure. I may or may not be slightly (very) nervous about actually getting them and what/if they will actually change in my life. I saw you have a contact page on your blog… is it okay if I head over and email you a couple questions about them? Thanks again for commenting!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Make my day:

