Posted in Challenges/Awards

The Selcouth Award

selcouth-award-button

Hey, everyone!

I was nominated for the Selcouth Award by Tessa Megan from Writer’s Ink. The definition of Selcouth is (adjective) unusual; strange. Seems like a fun twist to put on a challenge, doesn’t it?

Without further ado… T H E   R U L E S .

1. Thank the blogger that nominated you (and a link too if you’re willing).

2. Nominate 5-10 blogs (links too!).

3. Answer the 13 questions given, and give the definition of your favorite (or just beautiful) word.

4. Ask 13 questions of your own. They must all be about writing, reading, books or book characters. Make them as creative/wacky/selcouth as can be!

5. Post the rules and include the award in your post.

Now for T H E   Q U E S T I O N S

Have you ever published anything you’ve written?

Uhhh… kinda? I wrote a creative non-fiction for a small, family (not our family) magazine. I think it went to like 60 to 100 people? So not big at all, but they still kinda published one of my stories. The other closest I could get to that would be when I won at our fair for Creative Writing, and they stuck my story along with its ribbons on the wall.

How long have you been blogging?

Overall? Coming up on three years before too long. On this blog? Six months. *shrugs*

Who or what inspires you to write?

I don’t know. I just… write. Like I’ve done it so long that I can’t not do it. I mean, I’m sure if I worked hard I could wean myself off… but…

What’s your favorite blog?

*puppy dog eyes* please, please don’t make me pick favorite! *sighs* No answer. I suppose I have to. Um… uh… err…  it would either be BlondeWriteMore or Historical Diaries.

What’s your favorite book series?

My favorite book series would be The Ranger’s Apprentice or Brotherband Chronicles. Although I also love The Chronicles of Narnia and the Little House on the Prairie as well. But the Swindle series is fantastic too.

Ugh. I can’t choose.

Where do you get the ideas for your stories?

A little here, and a little there, and everywhere! *cue excited bouncing* (Totally a quote from The Very First Noel)

Have you ever written a sad story?

Yes. I have. It was very sad. I never tried to publish it. Or even showed it to anyone.

Do you like historical fiction?

Yes! I do! Absolutely. It’s one of my favorite genres.

Does listening to music while you write distract you or help you?

Depends on what scene I’m writing. Some scenes music helps a lot, but if I’m really thinking hard about what I want to do with it and where I want to go… bye bye music!

Have you ever participated in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and if so, have you ever reached your word count goal?

Yes, I have. Two years now. The first year I did, but the second year… well, life got in the way, and I didn’t get my word count.

How do you write? (Computer, by hand, typewriter)

None of the above. I go back to our pond, pick up my stick pen and use mud to form words on the logs around the pond. From there, my fairy godmother uses her magic wand to transfer everything from the logs into the Great Notebook which I can take anywhere I wish.

 

 

Jk, jk. No, I do both computer and writing by hand. Depends on how persistent the scene is and which is closer. Occasionally I write on the back of napkins too.

How much do you like writing and why?

I like creating. No, scratch that. I love creating. I love the way I can write up worlds and people. I love picturing the people and seeing them in different situations. I love everything about writing.

My word is Whippersnapper: (n) an unimportant but offensively presumptuous person, especially young one. The reason I like it? Just say it! Whip-per-snap-per. It’s so much fun to say! Dontcha think? Whippersnapper, whippersnapper, whippersnapper…

M Y   N O M I N E E S :

Now for M Y   Q U E S T I O N S :

  1. Who’s your favorite character?
  2. Now who would you ship them with? (Now go write fanfic! Yay! Lol.)
  3. What’s your favorite thing about writing?
  4. What publishing company is your dream publishers?
  5. What is your favorite pet from a book?
  6. Who is your favorite author and why?
  7. What is your favorite writing style?
  8. First-, second-, or third-person?
  9. Favorite era to read about?
  10. Favorite place to write?
  11. An author who inspires you.
  12. Who your first book dedication is going to be to.
  13. Your favorite quote.

 

Hey, guys. Thanks for reading! I hope you have a beautiful day. Watch out for wooden nickles!

Author:

Jaylee Morgan is a teenage author with her sights set on publishing. She’s written short stories since–uh… um–before she can remember. Her family isn’t quite sure what to do with her (mental hospital, maybe?), as she carries around a folder that she’ll randomly open and start scribbling in. She grew up (er, is still growing up) on a little hobby farm. She was basically born riding horses and hopefully will continue to ride horses for the rest of her life. She loves, loves, loves the cowboy lifestyle and might actually write about it someday. (Right now, she’s too scared that she won’t do it justice.) She reads. Like crazy.

One thought on “The Selcouth Award

Make my day:

