Posted in Beautiful People, Destiny's Story, Stories

March 2017 Beautiful People

Click on the photo to go to the original site and see the link up and everything. Maybe even try it yourself. 😀

Okay, this is the first time I’ve tried something like this… so it will definitely be interesting. But I saw it on Reveries and thought it looked like a ton of fun. And then to be in a link up and visiting other blogs and… yeah, I’m slightly excited about it. If you can’t tell.

I think that this month, I’m going to be interviewing Dan and Destiny together. Just for the fun of it. 😛 Destiny will be bold, and Dan will be italics. (He’s gonna hate me for not making him bold, but oh well. :P)

FYI for anyone who’s not a regular… Destiny is the main character in my WIP Listening to Destiny. Dan is her brother. The story follows Destiny and her family as she looses her hearing, moves, and learns how to live again. If you’d like to learn more about the story, click here to go to my Listening to Destiny page. 😀


The questions!

 

  • What’s your favorite book/movie/play/etc.?

Click to see on Goodreads. Seriously, check it out. It’s hilarious.

Um…

Destiny likes goofy books. Like Chomp.

Chomp is not goofy. It’s awesome. At least it’s not like those ridiculous comics.

Comics. Are. Amazing.

*rolls eyes* Uh huh. Suuuuurrrre.

They are!

Next question, Jaylee! Pleeeaaaassseee!

 

  • Is there anything you regret doing?

*Look awkwardly at each other*

We, uh, we probably…

We really shouldn’t give away spoilers…

No, yeah, that would be, uh, be bad.

[Anything not in the story guys??]

No. I’m perfect. Dan regrets using my favorite trophy as a bee swatter, though.

No, I don’t! That’s the best bee swatter I have!

YOU STILL HAVE IT?? GIVE IT BACK!! GIVE IT BACK NOW!!

 

  • If you were sick or wounded, who would take care of you and how?

Mom.

Mom.

By calling the doctor.

And freaking out.

*laughs* Yes, and that too.

 

  • Is there an object you can’t bear to part with and why?

Bella.

Bella is a dog. Not an object.

ASL.

Destiny! Please! ASL is a language! Let me explain objects to you. Something not alive. Something that you can see. Touch. Feel–

My phone! In case I got lost and couldn’t talk to anyone…

*sighs* Teenagers these days.

BUT WHAT IF NO ONE KNEW ASL??? HOW WOULD I FIND MY WAY HOME??? YOU WOULD HAVE TO LIVE WITHOUT ME!!

Oooo! If that happens, can I use your closet to stash my fireworks in?

NO! NO FIREWORKS IN MY CLOSET!

Um… don’t look under your shelf in there, okay?

DAAAAAANNNNNN!!!

 

  • What are 5 ways to win your heart (or friendship)?


Learn ASL.

Love Star Wars. Because lightsabers. Who doesn’t like lightsabers??

Be nice.

And Star Trek. Aliens!! Warp drive! SPACE BATTLES!

I guess… be close enough to hang out with?

And Stargate. Especially Stargate Atlantis. The wraith are just… wowness. And good ole McKay… *cracks up laughing*

Um… not be allergic to dogs.

And Marvel. Team Cap all the way!

Did I say know ASL?

And DC comics!! GO FLASSSSSSHHHH!

Dan, really?

 

  • Describe a typical outfit for you from top to bottom.

Jeans. Jeans totally rock. Then probably a tank and a nice blouse to throw over that. Colors? Anything bright. And a nice pair of boots.

Um… outfit? Uhhh… the first thing I find in my dresser… is that bad…?

Yes, Dan. That’s bad. That’s very bad. You shall never find a girlfriend that way.

What if I don’t want a girlfriend?

Trust me. One of these days you will.

Never.

*sighs*

 

  • What’s your favorite type of weather?

End of summer/beginning of fall. When everything’s still warm, but not too hot. And not muddy.

Winter. Cuz snowballs. And snow. And fun.

Winter’s too cold. And there’s snow. Eww.

Don’t ewww snow! It’ll be insulted and won’t come!

Really? EWWWW SNOW!

DESTINY!

 

  • What’s the worst fight you’ve ever been in?

Fights? Fighting? Um… probably with Mom and Dad… about… everything… when Dan was… um… missing. I actually screamed at them. And shouted Shakespeare insults at them… It was bad.

*is strangely silent*

Dan? This is where you answer.

*bites his lip* I guess it would be… um… with… ya know… um… Elliot… and…

Oh. OH. Dan, I’m sorry. I wasn’t thinking… NEXT QUESTION NOW JAYLEE!

 

  • What names or nicknames have you been called throughout your life?

I’ve nicknamed Dan… um, Dan, dork, goofy, bro…

Oooooo. I know one. Remember when Chase would call you Des?

Do not bring up Chase.

It was still a good nickname. Wish I’d thought of it.

It was a terrible nickname.

Was most definitely not.

Was too.

Was. Not.

I refuse to speak any longer on this subject.

 

  • What makes your heart feel alive?

Explosions.

Umm… Dan…

BIG EXPLOSIONS.

Uhhhhhhh….

DEMOLITIONS!

Dan, something’s the matter with you.

DESTROYING THINGS.

Dan. Dan, no.

I WANT TO BLOW UP A CAR AND SEE IT FLIP IN A FIREY EXPLOSION!

DA-AN!


Well, that’s Dan and Destiny. Whaddya think? Do they sound like interesting characters? Fun to learn about, read about, become friends with? I hope you guys liked them! Yeah, there was a bit more sass here that there is in the book, but who knows… Listening to Destiny still has another revision to go through. 😛 And I now have a strange desire to have her find Dan’s firework stash under her shelf in her closet… That should definitely be interesting.

Anyways, thanks for reading, guys! Let me know what you think of Dan and Destiny in the comments. And be sure to watch out for wooden nickels!

Author:

Jaylee Morgan is a teenage author with her sights set on publishing. She’s written short stories since–uh… um–before she can remember. Her family isn’t quite sure what to do with her (mental hospital, maybe?), as she carries around a folder that she’ll randomly open and start scribbling in. She grew up (er, is still growing up) on a little hobby farm. She was basically born riding horses and hopefully will continue to ride horses for the rest of her life. She loves, loves, loves the cowboy lifestyle and might actually write about it someday. (Right now, she’s too scared that she won’t do it justice.) She reads. Like crazy.

13 thoughts on “March 2017 Beautiful People

  1. Aw I love them. They sound great together. What inspired you to have a Deaf character? (and I totally had to look up wooden nickles – never heard that phrase before!)

    Like

    1. Thanks! Um, I came up with the story for Destiny a couple days after finding out that I had light-medium hearing loss and might need hearing aids (I didn’t, thankfully). After I heard that, I was thinking about what it would be like to be deaf, then Destiny was born. 😀

      Haha, yeah! I was researching different things people would say during Depression/1940s and wooden nickels was one that came up. The phrase basically a lighthearted reminder to be cautious in your dealings. Wooden nickels were easy to break and usually had expiration dates on them for only a certain store or event, and occasionally, would try to be passed off as real coins. I just say it because it sounds cool. And because I have yet to see anyone else say it, so… ;p

      Like

Make my day:

